Door at Number 13

Every time we go to Nafplio, the old Greek capital town in the Argolid region of the Peloponnese, I reacquaint myself with the door at number 13 Vasilissis Olgas. In the tourist season the building is gentrified by adding potted plants in front. But, I think the façade looks just fine without – a graceful lady of a certain age with good bones. Perhaps she takes after her street namesake – Queen Olga of the Hellenes (1851-1926).

The door has become an old friend, always there, not changing much over the past few years. I expect at some point she will either succumb to the ravages of time or get a face-lift. If the former, I hope gracefully and if the latter, I hope tastefully. However, I’ve captured her (and her matching sentinel windows) for now. I think she is at a beautiful phase of decay with fading pastel colours and subtle textures.

* * *

Check out Norm’s Thursday Doors for many more posts on fascinating buildings and their doors.

You might also want to see my post Beauty in Decay that presents more doors (from Garfagnana, Italy) and discusses the phenomenon of the ‘Pleasure of Ruins’.

7 comments

Comments are closed.