Olive Cream

In an attempt to use our home-cured, less than perfect Kalamata olives, I began with a simple olive paste, or what is also referred to as an olive cream. The major problem I had was our olives’ bland taste. Once I put my mind to it, I realized that I had a similar, although inverse problem with a bag of very salty Sicilian sun dried tomatoes. Put the two together and both problems solved!

olive_cream

Olive & Sun Dried Tomato Cream
You will, no doubt, have the right balance of saltiness in both your olives and sun dried tomatoes!

  • 200g pitted Kalamata olives
  • 25g sun dried tomatoes
  • 3 rosemary sprigs
  • 50g olive oil

Pit your Kalamata olives and measure out the 200g. Chop the sun dried tomatoes and strip the needles from the rosemary sprigs. Add the olives, sun dried tomatoes and rosemary to a food processor and purée, adding the olive oil a little at a time. The purée should be smooth and slightly salty. Adjust seasoning if necessary.

There are many uses for olive cream – in pasta sauces, stews and soups; mixing with mayonnaise (for olive aoli) or with hummus or cream cheese; as a marinade on grilled fish or smeared under the skin of roast chicken…or simply spread on toasts as pictured above.

You can read about our olive curing experiment in previous IMK posts, In My Olive Kitchen (1 December 2016) and Traditions & Experiments In My Kitchen (1 February 2017).

12 comments

  1. Ingenious! As it turns out, I have a bag of sun-dried tomatoes that have been withering away for some months. Also. I have some olives left over from a party last weekend, along with some dried brochette slices. You’ve inspired me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

