New Horizons

I’ve been absent from the last few weeks of The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge and after reading this week’s challenge, New Horizons, it seemed likely that I might give this one a miss as well.

However, like all good posts, it got me thinking, specifically about a recent visit to the Athens central market. Not the market itself, but to one place in particular adjacent to the fruit and vegetable stalls: the Big Bazaar, a three storey building chockablock with STUFF.

big_bazaar

The entrance is somewhere around here.

big_bazaar_entrance

We were in search of cordial glasses matching an old set that was no longer manufactured. And there were other oddball things on the list that could not be easily found in more conventional shops. On the surface, the miryad rooms and corridors on each floor linked by a narrow spiral staircase appeared to be complete chaos.

big_bazaar_interior_room

Narrow pathways allowed one to move (carefully) from one area to another.

big_bazaar_interior_corridor

That visit brought to mind Chaos Theory or Complexity Theory as I have heard it called in fiction, on TV programs and even by my son’s friend who is completing his Ph.D. in theoretical mathmatics. There is order in chaos – such as all the glassware gathered together in one tiny room on the third floor. Lo and behold, we discovered a few of those cordial glasses, only after about 30 minutes searching. The image shows one corner of the room – think 360 degrees of glassware. Move with caution!

big_bazaar_glassware

Amidst all that stuff we also managed to find nearly everything else we were looking for. Then it dawned on me that the chaos (or complexity) of the Big Bazaar was a metaphor for discovery. And that is my New Horizon – discovery, learning and exploring something new in our seemingly chaotic, complex world.

New Horizons: The Daily Post’s Weekly Poto Challenge.

22 comments

    • Minimalism and a Victorian house do not go together – and excuse to but. However, one does have to be very careful with purchases. Some things look perfectly acceptable in the (dim) shop, but once home they take on a new character. It isn’t one of those places you return things!

      Like

  1. I struggled just getting through the stalls at the market at Monastiraki Flea Market without endless useless purchases, thank god I didn’t find this place!

    Like

  2. A great response to the challenge, Debi. Very creative. As for the market, I am soo glad I knew nothing of the place when I visited Athens. I could shop in a place like this for hours — and spend at least an equal amount of time trying to fit my purchases into my luggage. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.