Local Market Day

One of the pleasures of travelling is investigating local markets. Most towns have regular open air markets, operating in all kinds of weather. Local vendors and farmers set up stalls to sell their products – from cheeses and preserved meats, seasonal fruit and veg to flowers and potted plants, flashy trinkets, a multitude of household items, garish fabrics and cheap apparel. There is something invigorating about being among the locals trawling for a good buy.

Thursday Market Day at Castelnuovo di Garfagnana in Northern Tuscany was dreary and wet when we visited. In fact, a deluge occurred, but it did not put either us or the locals off. Shopping went on as usual just outside the entrance to the old fortified town centre although the outside café tables were abandoned.

castelnuovo_market_day2

Similar activity was seen at the central piazza. Sales of umbrellas were doing a brisk business.

castelnuovo_market_day1

And as the morning progressed, the clouds dispersed. A cheerful flower vendor resumed sales.

castelnuovo_flower_seller

Local: The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge

10 comments

  1. We are of one mind, Debi. One I get settled, my first adventure is to find a local produce stand/market and bring back fruit. Next, it’s a cheese shoppe and nearby bakery. Before my walk ends, I’ll pick up a bottle of wine. Then no matter how the rest of my day goes, I know it will end with a bit of cheese and a glass of wine, while tomorrow will start with some fresh fruit. I could do far worse. 🙂

    Like

    • I do love local markets. We went to as many as we could find in Italy and I regularly go to my local Athens market every week. Periodically I also go downtown to the big central market which is a real cultural experience – the old, old Athens is still there!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s one of the highlights of traveling. Haggling for better prices is oftentimes expected in poorer countries but I find it hard to do, knowing that the worth of their handcrafts is higher than what they are asking for! Last year I went to many markets in Cambodia and Vietnam, and this summer heading to Central America’s. While attempting to travel light, the issue of where to pack the new treasures arises.

    Like

Comments are closed.