Frivolity, Mirth & Absurdity

I admit it, the three words of my title are synonyms, that is, they all have a similar meaning that add up to FUN.

One only has to go down to Pandrosou and Ifaistou streets to find a little frivolity, mirth and absurdity. This is the Athens pedestrian flea market that radiates off Monasteraki Square where inexpensive Greek-inspired souvenirs vie with general kitsch as far as the eye can see.

athens_flea_market

I have a thing about blue glass evil eyes (matia). These ones are amusing with cute little blue bows and silly metal charms next to T-shirts with witty sayings and logos for Greek beer…

matia_in_fleamarket

Or, in the same theme, a cheerful apron covered in matia to keep envy and spite out of the kitchen…

matia_apron

Frivolous glass wrist beads – fashion jewellery as the label says – on elastic bands in every imaginable colour like jelly beans and cleverly incorporating even more matia

glass_bead_bracelets

More frivolity with these playful cartoon inspired key-chains…

cartoon_key_chains

For apparel, there was this absurdly staged Marilyn-esque dress…

marylyn_dress

Or, snazzy flip-flops for the beach…

snazzy_flipflops2

More footgear in the form of foolish felt pompom tsarouhi slippers…

pompom_slippers

For entertainment, bright multi-coloured ukuleles that make you smile or utter a mirthful chuckle…

ukuleles

Or, press-board puppets of characters from the comic Karagiozis stories of Greek folklore placed low to entice young shoppers to have fun…

karagiorzis_puppets

Fun tourist tat made and sold by the legion.

* * *

Another synonym for fun is festivity. Today is the Festival or Feast of the Panagia (Virgin Mary) celebrating the Dormition. It is also the name day for any Maria, Despina, Panos, Panagiota and Panagiotis. Χρόνια Πολλά!

Fun: Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge

20 comments

  1. The funniest thing is that 2D black and white cut out of Mariyln’s face on top of the dummy with drat eviess. I love that evil eye apron- want one badly. Might have to look in the markets when I return home.

    Like

    • Well, I thought that ‘eviess’ was fun, too. Hubby didn’t get it and wondered why I thought the dress was funny. It all hinges on the B&W cut out of Marylyn and how they draped the skirt. I almost bought the apron and am seriously thinking of going back.

      Like

  2. Xronia Polla!. love the meandering walk through Monastiraki….will be looking for Mythology playing cards next time I am there…..spotted cards in the Karagiozis photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Debi, I love checking out those types of shops when I am on holidays. There is always a load of crap in them but when you are on holidays it all seems so much nicer.

    Like

    • We call it the ‘muumuu effect’ – that is a muumuu dress looks pretty darn good in the shops in Hawaii, but when you get it home, it’s just a garish sack that hangs off the shoulders. There is an art to kitsch shopping, but takes a lot of time sifting through the crap. Part of the holiday experience!

      Like

  4. I, too, enjoy going into these shops, Debi, but I keep my hands in my pockets or clasped behind my back. I’ve brought home too many trinkets from these places already. It must be the lighting in my home. No matter how cute or desirable something may be just before purchase, it looks completely different once I get it home. I know I’m not alone. I frequent a charity-based consignment shop looking for plates for my blog posts. (I buy them for a dollar or less, use them, then donate them when I return for more.) While there, I see shelves of trinkets very similar to those I’ve brought home. I never knew bad lighting was so pervasive. 😉

    Like

    • I think it is the bright sunshine that makes everything a little bit better than it actually is. I, too, have seen many tourist trinkets for sale in charity shops in the UK. (By the way, smart idea regarding blog photo props.) As I said in another comment, there is an art to shopping in places like this that requires a very discerning eye – something I’ve yet to perfect. Best thing to do is clasp both hands behind your back while wandering among the glitter.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.