Ice Cream Kitchen

This past month (and the month before as well) the kitchen has seen a lot of ice cream making. We are talking mega litres here. Not that we eat it all, tempting though it is. A number of small residential academic courses are held here in late spring and summer. We often have a BBQ for the students for each course. And, the meal’s finale invariably is scoops of homemade ice cream – brilliant since it can be made ahead and stored in the freezer, leaving us free to concentrate on the rest of the meal closer to the day scheduled for the BBQ. The ice cream has not let us down and is very much appreciated!

We’ve had an almost toffee-like flavoured ice cream with brown sugar and cream cheese (after miscalculating and purchasing several huge buckets of cream cheese at the catering supply shop and not knowing what to do with it all), chocolate-banana (sparked by a glut of ripening bananas left over from cake making – also for those courses)…

chocolate-banana_icecream

…fresh mint with grated chocolate flakes (from the large crop of mint in the garden – though a bit too minty for my taste)…

mint_cc_icecream

…and finally butterscotch ice cream (ditto that huge bucket of cream cheese and a big bag of demerara sugar from the same source) – similar to the toffee-like one and the best of the lot.

butterscotch_icecream

Butterscotch Ice Cream
Very creamy. It tastes just like the hard butterscotch candies my grandfather always had on hand. Truly addictive (especially with chocolate sauce!).

  • 43g (3 Tablespoons) butter
  • 200g (1 cup) demerara sugar (raw or turbinado sugar)
  • pinch of salt
  • 375ml double cream
  • 250ml whole milk
  • 5 large egg yolks
  • 225g cream cheese
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

First melt the butter in a large heavy bottom pot. Add the sugar and stir until it dissolves and becomes slightly darkened. Be careful not to let it burn. Add the pinch of salt and the cream. The buttery sugar will harden. Lower the heat and stir the mixture until the butterscotch completely dissolves in the cream.

Meanwhile, measure the cream cheese in a large bowl and add half the milk. Mash the cream cheese and mix in the milk. It does not need to be completely smooth, but simply needs to break up the larger lumps of cream cheese. Add the vanilla to the bowl. Set aside and have a strainer handy.

In a separate bowl whisk the egg yolks. Add the other half of the milk to the cream and sugar mixture to lower the temperature slightly. Stir, then add some of this to the egg yolks before pouring it back into the pot with the rest of the butterscotch cream. Continue stirring until the custard thickens. Turn off the heat and while the mixture is still warm, strain over the bowl with the cream cheese. Stir or whisk until the mixture is smooth. Place in the refrigerator to cool completely – best overnight.

Process the cold custard in your ice cream machine. Put into a container and freeze for 4 hours or more before using. To scoop, let the ice cream warm at room temperature for 10 to 15 minutes. Fantastic with chocolate sauce.

* * *

With all this practice, I think I have finally mastered proper egg custard style ice creams. I think I like these better than the cornstarch/cornflour custard versions I discussed in my previous post, The Art & Science of Gelato Making, Sicilian Style. Egg custard does not have that slight floury or chalky aftertaste that cornflour sometimes produces. My only concern now is dealing with little tuppers of egg whites stashed in the freezer. A few intriguing recipes for egg white cakes and cookies by my favourite bloggers might be the answer – starting with recent posts by Sandra on Nut & Spice Macaroons and Chocolate, Walnut & Date Meringue Cake by Francesca.

However, those light and refreshing fruit packed (egg free) gelatos still elude me. I much prefer these in the summer. It might be about time to do something about this. Professional help will be required – more anon on this subject. Meanwhile, I can enjoy the fantastic raspberry gelato made by our favourite sweet shop around the corner.

raspberry_gelato

A monthly IMK (In My Kitchen) post. Check out other IMK bloggers, each of us writing about what’s been happening in our kitchens each month, normally hosted by Maureen @ The Orgasmic Chef, who is now on ‘sick leave’ until September. So, wishing her a speedy recovery. For earlier IMK posts, see the fabulous Celia @ Fig Jam and Lime Cordial who, began the IMK phenomenon and until 2016 listed all of us IMK bloggers. A chronological listing of my In My Kitchen blog posts can be found on a separate page, just click the link or look under the heading of Diaries in the Menu bar above.
14 comments

  1. I really enjoy some ice-cream even in the depths of winter and home-made means you can do small batches at a time ( I certainly don’t have to feed hoards of students!). I tried a carob molasses goat milk one in Turkey and it was AMAZING! I will have to put something together under guise of IMK, I really miss the ‘prompt’ that a new month has begun. Hopefully Maureen is on the mend, nobody needs pressure for deadlines when you are needing to recuperate. Thanks for the links, very useful! 🙂

    Like

    • Wow, must research that carob molasses goat milk ice cream. I expect that the carob molasses is like pekmezi – a syrup made from boiling down grape must – but made with carobs. I also hope Maureen is feeling better and certainly these prompts help a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I offered to go and be a slave for a month at the place that made the ice-cream. They make fresh everyday and some of the other flavours were, mulberry, strawberry, peach, chocolate and lemon. I embarrassed myself drooling so much. Love to know if you find any info, I’ve consulted Chef Google with not much success. I did ask if there was mastik and salep in it (common in Turkish IC), but not sure if they just said yes as they smiled or if there really is. I did stock up on salep at Grand Bazaar just in case!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kalo Mina, Debi.
    and Happy Month to all following your blog. Have you noticed that the students coming through the school
    tend to linger??? How you have spoiled them! The chocolate mint ice cream washed down with a glass of
    cold lemon verbena tea would be heaven.
    We are coming through Athens at the end of August and late September to and from Patmos. Should you
    be in Athens, would love to be guided to your favorite gelato shop.

    Like

    • Kalo Mina! They would linger if given half the chance…and it is nice to offer something so they will think of their time here with pleasure. We’ll be here in late August and then again late September getting ready for the new academic year starting in October. I expect you know where to find me! It would be a pleasure to meet you.

      Like

    • I know, Sandra, but it is equally too hot here to make soups and stews. In the past few years since blogging, I have become very aware of our topsy-turvey world where my summer is reversed as your winter. Makes life interesting and varied.

      I know about the egg whites in sorbets, but have been too lazy (and hot!) to make the Italian meringue!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this post, Debi! I’ve never used corn starch/flour when making ice cream but I have used cream cheese. Love it! My tasting crew is fewer in number these days which translates into more ice cream in my freezer. I’ve put the ice cream maker out of sight for the time being but I’m pinning this post. I’ve just got to try that butterscotch! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve always loved butterscotch and this recipe is a winner. Making too much ice cream for one or two is a very dangerous business. Better to wait until you have a crowd. What other flavours did you use with the cream cheese? I find we still have half a huge tub of the stuff left. I have learned my lesson for next time when we are buying in bulk.

      Like

Leave a Reply

