More Frozen Experiments with Jam

I now wonder why I was worrying about the prospect of churning frozen desserts in a country (i.e. Greece) not known for fresh dairy products (i.e. milk and cream). To date, I’ve successfully tried non-dairy granitas (strawberry-rosé), Italian meringue-stabalised black currant sorbet and its relation, gooseberry spoom which is defined by its even greater quantity of Italian meringue. And, now here is a frozen yoghurt – definitely one dairy product the country excels in.

This is one of the easiest recipes I can think of – just mix and churn. No cooking is involved as there is in making custards for gelato or simple syrup for sorbets or even granitas. In fact, the clean-up of the food processor and ice cream churn takes more time and effort than the mixing.

This recipe is only limited by what tastes pair with the natural tanginess of the main ingredient – yoghurt. I’ve paired it here with apricot.

apricot_frozen_yoghurt_feature

Apricot Frozen Yoghurt
I used my homemade apricot jam, which was not too sweet and laden with fruit. But, use whatever good-quality, fruit-heavy jam you like as the recipe is adaptable. I would think that most stone fruits (peach, plum, nectarine, and possibly even cherry) would have the requisite pectin and fruit fibre and also go well with yoghurt.

  • 500g thick Greek full-fat yoghurt
  • 300g apricot jam, preferably homemade (with a high fruit percentage)
  • 80ml (1/3 cup) honey
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon

Purée the jam, honey and lemon juice. Add the purée to the yoghurt and whisk until smooth. Churn in the ice cream machine. Freeze for at least 4 hours, preferably over night. To serve, let it sit at room temperature about 15 minutes before scooping.

apricot_frozen_yoghurt2

21 comments

    • The recipe is great and so easy. Packing in final stages which includes the ice cream machine – so this frozen yoghurt was the last for a while. We are moving into a fully furnished house with a fully operational kitchen. Just some personal things are going, though it is hard to choose and decide what will be needed. Luckily we will be back in the Autumn, so I can pick up things forgotten. Less than a month to go…

      Like

  1. I adore the sound of this, I have added it to my list of things to make. Homemade apricot jam has special memories for me, my maternal grandmother used their orchards apricots to make amazing jam and mum still makes a killer version as well. Can’t wait for summer. All of that Greek yoghurt on tap must be lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • All the little details are lining up. The calendar is riddled with dates for last minute things that have to be done, the date our things are shipped (including the ice cream machine) and finally our flight out. Hope to slip in a day or two before that time just for ourselves… Scotland beckons. Hope you, too, have some breathing time before your departure north.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Greek yoghurt is something else…. when I visited I was spreading it on my morning toast like cream cheese and topping with tomato and cracked pepper. Divine! Can’t wait to see how your new location inspires your foodie posts. 🙂

    Like

    • The texture is down to the particular type of fat-rich yoghurt, the glucose in the honey, the pectin and fruit pulp in the jam – I’m guessing here, but those things seem to be what affect the outcome. I will need to try it with another jam to see if it works as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is why you are the expert and I am the humble, bumbling follower. I thought I was buying the savoury Greek yoghurt 🙂 I misread and thought that I was meant to mix it all together rather than to mix the honey and jam and lemon juice first then into the yoghurt. Ah, well. The icecream maker is making churning noises. I will let you know how it all went. PS. This part at least was deliberate – I’m not such a fan of apricot jam, so I bought a three berry combo. 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.