Around My Edible Garden

January 2015

Dormant? It certainly looks that way with the bare raspberries and currants under a light dusting of snow. And, since I no longer grow vegetables, there are no winter leeks to harvest. It’s just the fruit and herbs…and the snow.

january2015_raspberries

But…despite that snow, the mint has sprouted new green shoots.

january2015_mint

And the rhubarb is showing a little sign of life – a leaf just beginning to unfurl. The snow is always short-lived and does not seem to affect the new growth.

january2015_rhubarb

Then, the buds are forming on the rosemary, soon to be tiny blue flowers. Such a hearty plant!

january2015_rosemary

And, last but not least, I noticed the other day growing along the wall of the house the young Japanese quince. Its pink blossom is a harbinger of spring to come. I think it is one of the most beautiful flowers. Gives you hope.

january2015_garden_feature

Tasks to be done:

  1. Wait
  2. Be patient
  3. Plan
Around My Edible Garden is my monthly diary entry detailing what is happening in my garden this past month, part of the Garden Share Collective (GSC), maintained by Lizzie@strayedtable (click on the “links in collection” icon below to view all participants). A chronological listing of my garden blog posts is listed Diaries in the Menu bar.
GSC_icon
18 comments

    • These garden tasks are actually quite difficult to do! What I really want to do is get out there and dig – or even weed! However, I do love the seasons. Right now I’m looking through the kitchen window at the clumps of snowdrops just about ready to open – always a pleasure to observe.

      Like

  1. This is beautiful! I really love your garden. It’s hard to believe how resilient some of these plants are. They seem a little early for spring in January, but if it’s normal, it gives hope. How beautiful. Thanks for sharing. I love your garden posts. I love all of your posts, but I like these a lot 🙂

    Like

    • This is one of the pleasures of gardening in temperate England. Winters were way too cold in North America (at least the northern parts!) to grow things year round. Indeed, in Wisconsin much of the ground was covered in snow and ice for months! Am watching the rhubarb begin to sprout more leaves in spite of more recent snow. I don’t think anything could stop it!

      Like

    • I do agree! I love going out to the garden even in the cold weather just to have a poke around to see what’s new. A bit frustrating when it doesn’t grow faster. Though, I might take that statement back when we finally get to peak producing season!

      Like

  2. It never ceases to maze me at the way nature just “gets on with it”. I love winter in the garden but we just get dormant and leafless, no snow. I love the way you can feel the energy when seasons are about to change. Don’t think I could ever live in the tropics based on that alone.

    Like

  3. The contrast in our weather is amazing. I would love to see the new growth after a sudden cold snap like having snow. We just get warm rain spurts of growth were the weeds grow just as fast as the veggies

    Like

    • I, too, am always struck by the differences in seasons between the Northern and Southern hemispheres. It seems so unreal that you are in the midst of summer in February! But, England is also very different from the parts of the US where I have lived. There we would be blanketed in snow for months with little or (more likely) no gardening going on.

      Like

Comments are closed.