Too Many Bananas

Why is it that no matter how you carefully select bananas in the market with the correct degree of ripeness and quantity on the bunch, within a few days there are always browning, over-ripe bananas left in the fruit bowl? I am told that some people actually like to eat them this way. Really? Can this be true? Needless to say, we do not eat them as raw fruit once they’ve reached that dark brown/black or even the soft leopard spotted stage. Short of throwing them away – which I am loath to do as I hate waste of any kind – something has to be done.

So…I have a HUGE collection of recipes that deal with mushy bananas. Given the large number variations on of banana breads, cakes, cupcakes, pies, puddings, doughnuts, ice creams, and other inventive things, I think it is safe to assume that many others are also in search of ways of using those mushy bananas. A universal problem.

banana_icecream

Banana Foster Chocolate Chip No-Churn Ice Cream
After the success of my strawberry and balsamic caramel no-churn ice cream early in the summer, I decided to try the technique with bananas. The flavourings of the banana are based on that classic New Orleans dessert – flambéed, alcohol soaked bananas served with ice cream.

  • 4 small or 3 medium very ripe or slightly over ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup, 2 fluid oz., 60ml rum
  • 150g. chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-1/2 cups (600ml) double cream
  • 14 oz. (397g.) tin condensed milk

banana_icecream_feature

The first thing you will need to do is peel and mash the bananas. Set this aside. Second, heat the butter in a large frying pan and add the brown sugar and stir until the sugar dissolves in the butter. Add the mashed bananas and the rum. Keep stirring until the mixture thickens. Turn off heat and let the mixture cool completely.

banana_icecream_prep1

In a mixer bowl, put the cream and condensed milk. Using a whisk attachment, beat until soft peaks form. Fold in the cooled banana mixture and the chocolate chips.

banana_icecream_prep2

Put into a freezer container or a loaf pan. Cover with clingfilm or a lid. Freeze for at least 5 hours. Scoop out and serve with additional sliced bananas.

banana_icecream_prep3

19 comments

    • I also put bananas in the freezer. Mixing them with yoghurt sounds very good and certainly fewer calories than this version. I have to work on making ice creams as this no-churn recipe with condensed milk is very rich.

      Like

  1. I never get to do anything like that 😦 No matter how many I buy, and no matter how ripe they are, bananas in my household are always gone within a day or two. And I hardly even get a chance to eat one. This ice-cream looks decadent and delicious!

    Like

  2. This sounds delicious. I need to tell you there’s been news lately that the bananas with the brown flecks on the skin are healthier because they represent some cancer fighting element…. At the shop where I work there are often loads of bananas to ripe to sell , that I get for free. One thing I’ve been doing is experimenting with banana jam and putting a banana or two in other mixed-fruit jams. It’s a very bright, distinctive taste— hmmmm.. Mostly I puree and freeze then will make frozen “smoothies” for the kids. I guess this post means you are back. Eagerly awaiting travel blogs 🙂

    Like

    • I saw that news item, but still can’t get myself to eat the raw mushy bananas – a texture thing, I guess. But, I hate waste, so am very glad that I am able to use these “over-ripe” bananas. Have to try your smoothy trick – sounds good (and certainly healthier than this rich ice cream! Am on my way back – in Piedmont at the moment, France tomorrow and then home! Have a few blog posts up my sleeve.

      Like

  3. Great to have another use for squishy ‘nanas, though I might make ice cream I can churn in my new machine then add the chocolate chips and rum? I’m salivating thinking about it!!

    Like

  4. Boozy bananas and chocolate sounds simply divine! I don’t have an ice cream maker because my kitchen does not need more appliances – great to know that I can still make ice cream. I’ve heard that lightly spotted bananas are the best for you – they are easier to digest so you get more nutrients. It’s a delicate balance though – too spotty and they’re only good for cooking or smoothies. I peel my too-spotty bananas and stash them in the freezer for those purposes.

    Like

  5. Yum. I love banana ice cream. I avoid making ice creams because I have no restraint. Look at that! Gorgeous. And seriously, I have no idea who likes bananas like that. I like to freeze bananas right before they get to that stage and have it as a frozen dessert. They’re actually wonderful that way.

    Like

Comments are closed.