Mountain Herbs & Lamb

Everywhere in Greece there are little whitewashed churches perched on rocky hilltop peaks, reminding us of the sacredness of high places. Some are perched so high, in what seems almost inaccessible areas of dry, thorny scrub, that only nimble mountain sheep and goats can follow precarious paths. It is quite common that many of those high mountainous shrines are dedicated to Profitis Ilias (the Prophet Elijah).

On the 20th of July, when Profitis Ilias is honored, there are often pilgrimages to the hilltop shrines. In Messenia, in the Southwest of the Peloponnese, I learned it was also the custom on this day to gather dried wild oregano that grew among the mountain scrub. Great bunches of it would be tied and hung from the rafters in storerooms in houses around the area, providing a yearly supply of the most frequently used herb in Greek cooking.

roast_lamb_feature

Wild mountain oregano is much stronger than the British garden variety. I tend to buy my supply in Greece, or I am given it as gifts by Greek friends. I am partial to Cretan oregano, a place where (in the summer months) the dusty aromatic scent of this herb pervades the air. The taste of the herb does vary from place to place – a kind of herb terroir. It is possible, however, to buy it in speciality markets, labeled as either Greek or Turkish oregano – or sometimes simply as mountain oregano.

roast_lamb

Slow-cooked Lamb with Lemon & “Mountain Herbs”
This could almost be described as “pull-apart lamb” as the meat is so tender and literally falling off the bone. It is slow-cooked, taking a total of 6 hours, so prepare ahead!

  • 1 leg of lamb (approx. 6 to 7 lbs. with bone)
  • 6 large garlic cloves
  • 2 teaspoons coarse sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 lemons
  • 1 to 2 Tablespoons dried oregano
  • 1 Tablespoon dried thyme
  • Olive oil
  • Waxy potatoes or New Potatoes

First, peel the garlic and cut into rough pieces. Place the garlic in a mortar with the sea salt and pepper. Grind with your pestle until you get a paste. Clean and trim the fat from the leg of lamb. With a sharp knife, cut a few slits into the leg meat, evenly over the leg. Push in some of the garlic paste into the slits. Juice 2 of the lemons.

roast_lamb_prep1

Place the lamb in your clay pot which has been lightly oiled. You can use a Römertopf pot or something similar – just remember to follow the instructions for use (such as pre-soaking the pot). I use my handmade, dome-lidded peka which I described in my post on Serbian Šnicla. Pour the lemon juice over the lamb and sprinkle on about half of the oregano and thyme. Drizzle with a little oil. Place lid on.

roast_lamb_prep2

Place the covered pot in the oven and turn the oven on to 300 degrees F. – no need to preheat. Let it bake for 4 hours. Meanwhile, clean your potatoes. I used new potatoes, but any waxy potato will do – cut into large chunks and leaving the skin on. Turn the meat. There will be quite a bit of liquid that has formed. Put the potatoes around the lamb. Squeeze the juice of the remaining lemon and sprinkle on the rest of the oregano and thyme over the potatoes and the lamb. Drizzle a little more oil on the potatoes. Replace the lid and return it to the oven for another 2 hours.

roast_lamb_prep3

When the lamb has been cooking for a total of 6 hours, remove from the oven, lift out the lamb carefully to a cutting board and remove the potatoes from the broth with a slotted spoon. With a fork, pull the meat from the bone and serve surrounded by potatoes that have cooked in the juices, absorbing much of the meat and lemon flavor.

roast_lamb_prep4

Pour the juices into a bowl, cover and refrigerate. Once cold, remove the hardened fat from top and discard. Use the broth for making risottos, soups, etc., but remember it is slightly acidic due to the lemons used in the cooking.

20 comments

    • I love this pot! It was made by a Greek potter, Yiannis Stangides from a small village (Paliambela) just outside Thessaloniki. We visited him a number of years ago. I also love cooking lamb – and other meats- in this pot. It slow cooks and keeps the meat moist. I’m sure you’ll be able to find Greek oregano in London.

      Like

  1. OK! I’m salivating. I’m sure you house was full of the delicious aroma of roasting lamb. I adore it slow roasted like this. The stronger flavoured oregano is labelled “rigani” here in Australia, sometimes it’s Greek, sometimes Sicilian and if you’re really lucky sometimes locally grown.

    Like

    • That’s good to know about ‘rigani’ – obviously from the botanical name Origanum. This oregano is actually origanum vulgare (I think). Greek/Turkish oregano can sometimes be origanum onites, but they are so close that it is almost impossible to tell the difference just by looking (unless you’re a botanist, that is). I grow origanum vulgare in my garden, but even when dried, tastes completely different from the stuff I get in Greece. I’m convinced that it is the environment – the soil. the weather, the rainfall (or lack of), etc. that affects the taste. Oregano from different parts of Greece also taste different from one another. Whatever the case, when the lamb is cooking (most of the afternoon), the herby aroma drives you crazy!

      Like

    • You’re definitely not alone! It amazes me how many of our Greek students dislike lamb. It might be the strong, almost mutton flavour of Greek lamb, which is not like British lamb or New Zealand Lamb – both of which are our standard lamb sources here. The the lemons and herbs are equally good with pork or chicken!

      Like

  2. This sounds divine! If I couldn’t find dried mountain oregano would you recommend using more common variety oregano since the taste isn’t as bold and strong?

    Like

    • You could try the oregano you have. I’m sure it would be good – maybe up the dried thyme amount to compensate. But, next time you’re in a speciality shop, have a look for ‘rigani’, Greek oregano, Turkish oregano… It is certainly more pungent.

      Like

  3. Boy, does this sound good! The garlic paste and herbs are perfect for lamb and I bet they worked wonders on those potatoes. I’d no idea that Greek oregano could vary from island to island. It makes sense but I never really thought about it. We rarely use oregano, marjoram being far more popular in the section of Italy my family called home. I should give it a try, just to see what I’ve been missing. 🙂

    Like

    • I love this combo. The simple garlic paste is great and I always insert it into the meat so the flavours don’t get lost in the juice. Oregano and marjoram are related – in fact origanum onites is sometimes called Turkish oregano and sometimes called pot marjoram. And, to confuse matters even more, origanum vulgare is often called wild marjoram. The taste differences between regions was brought home to me when I bought a small packet of oregano on the island of Kythera and the resulting pasta sauce I made was totally different from when I was using Cretan oregano. Since then, I’ve learned from the Royal Gardens at Kew, that there is such a thing as a herb terroir!

      Like

Comments are closed.