Pruning Interrupted

Today was to be the day the Autumn Bliss raspberry canes were due for the “chop”. I give them their annual haircut around this time of year, post-fruit bearing, to allow them to over-winter and to encourage new growth for a good crop next year. Well, they must have seen me coming because they were still displaying glistening red gems and a scattering of yet unripe berries. Survival instincts?

I thought, when I wrote my post Summer’s Swan Song with its recipe for apple and raspberry crisp, that the fruit had reached an end. Apparently not. So I harvested the handful of ripe berries and gave the canes a reprieve.

I had just the thing for the cup of berries I recovered – a raspberry infused vinegar. One of my favorite cranberry sauces is spiked with raspberry vinegar, and given the infusing time (about 3 weeks), I still had time before Thanksgiving to make the vinegar. It is also good with green salads – particularly spinach.

raspberry_vinegar1

Raspberry Vinegar
I decided to use white balsamic vinegar here rather than white wine vinegar because of the vinegar’s mellower flavor that would highlight the sweet, tart raspberries.

  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1 cup white balsamic vinegar

In a non-reactive pot, warm the vinegar, but do not boil. Clean and mash the raspberries slightly and place in a clean, sterilized glass jar. Pour on the warm vinegar and seal. It is important that metal does not touch the mixture. Put in a cool place and let it infuse for 3 weeks.

raspberry_vinegar2

Strain through cheesecloth to remove the raspberry bits and put the ruby-colored vinegar into a decorative bottle. It is ready to use!

3 comments

Comments are closed.